Glimpse Of The Past: Goggles

Ah, yes! Goggles.🙂 I got mine on the same day this picture was taken in August 2003. Although I had read “The Difference Engine” by William Gibson and Bruce Sterling by then I think I didn’t use the word “Steampunk” yet. Or did I? I’ve always been fond of Cyberpunk (it all starting with Shadowrun and Neuromancer in 1995) so Steampunk might somehow have found it’s way to my heart, too.

Although most people claim goggles not to be the ONE major steampunk accessory I’m still convinced of goggles being the most typical gimmick most people would think of when asked how to define a steampunk outfit. What about you?

I went shopping yesterday (again…). I got a beautiful skirt on sale. I plan on wearing it for my new job. I also found a nice shirt which I hope to show you next week.

Have a great weekend!

*     *     *

Steampunk on “Still Dark @ Heart”:

8 comments

  1. I agree that goggles are one of the more “well recognized” steam punk items. I think it also has a lot to do with cut and colors. Traditional Edwardian/Victorian esque clothing in shades of brown, cream, olive, black, and copper/gold metallics.

    I always admired cyber punk for it’s sci-fi reflections, but it always stayed too far goth for my color loving self. Oh I did the 3 years all black all the time big goth pants phase, but it quickly rolled into wearing candy colors, glowsticks and various costume pieces. But I’m still waiting for the next “blank” punk to come out that defines my personal fashion dreams and makes science fiction-y clothes more available to the general public.

    1. Hi there!🙂

      I like most sub-genres of scifi and fantasy. Steampunk and Cyberpunk are nice spin-offs but I also like the “classic tales”.
      I would also like fashion to offer more possibilities in that direction.
      When I was still in high school and college I spent weeks in search of the perfect Star Wars outfit – to at least wear once on a SW LARP session.😉

      Btw – book suggestions would be more than welcome.🙂 We seem to have some common interests in that direction.

      1. Ohhhgoodness! I can rec books til the cows come home. Here’s my quick list of favorites and recent reads:

        Urban fantasy: Kim Harrison’s Rachel Morgan books, Kelley Armstrong’s Women of Otherworld, Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files*, Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse* , Tanya Huff’s Blood Ties*

        High fantasy: Mercedes Lackey (anything but start with the Magic’s Pawn, Promise and Price trilogy), Melanie Rawn’s Dragon Prince books (good but hard to read), Jim Butcher’s Codex Alera, Amanda Hocking’s Trylle series.

        Scifi: David Weber’s treecats books.

        Mixed bag: Tanya Huff’s Keeper’s Chronicles, Vicki Pettersson’s Signs of the Zodiac, Neil Gaiman and Terry Prachett’s Good Omens.

        * = has a tv counterpart.

        Feel free to email me to chat about scifi/fantasy anytime. I tend to read more fantasy and watch more sci-fi movies, shows, etc.

  2. Thanks!🙂 Great to have met somebody who shares my love of scifi/fantasy!🙂

    I know some of those books but not all.
    I’ll check them out on Amazon.

    Have you ever read “The Dragonbone Chair” by Tad Williams?
    Or “The Genesis Of Shannara” by Terry Brooks?

    1. I’ve only read Tailchaser’s Song by Tad Williams (found it in a thrift store of all places). I haven’t heard of the other author. I will add them to my (admittedly long) list of books I haven’t read yet.

      1. I’ve read Tailchaiser’s Song, too. But I don’t think I’ll read it a second time. It’s a little disturbing.
        I really liked Terry Brooks’ Genesis Of Shannara-Trilogy but not the Shannara series itself.

  3. I tend to think “cyber” or “rivethead” when it comes to silvery metal-framed goggles with coloured or black lenses, and “steampunk” needs old leather aviator goggles. When I think “steampunk” I think of early aviators crossed with Victorian explorers and a good dose of mad science.

    1. I’m with you there. As I said, I started out being into Cyberpunk, not Steampunk. The picture was taken in 2003 and the goggles were bought a couple of minutes prior to taking this photo on the same day. I didn’t have them in mind when I dressed that day.

Leave a Reply

