DIY: Steampunk Blouse

Remember my article about Steampunk Fashion? I referred to this video by Threadbanger when talking about steampunky blouses. It’s about re-fashioning a man’s shirt into a Steampunk Blouse.

Erinnert ihr euch an meinen Artikel über Steampunk Fashion? Im Zusammenhang mit dem Thema Blusen hatte ich dieses Video von Threadbanger verlinkt, in dem es darum geht, aus einem Männerhemd eine Steampunk-Bluse zu machen.

So, when Mr. K. decided he didn’t like the above-pictured shirt anymore I grabbed it and spent a Busy Tuesday sewing…

Als Mr. K. sich also entschloss, dass er das oben gezeigte Hemd nicht mehr mochte, habe ich es mir gegriffen und habe einen Busy Tuesday mit Nähen verbracht…

I cut the shirt into pieces first. I don’t know if I want to re-fashion the collar, too, yet. I did some seaming and shirring and this is what the result looks like:

Zuerst zerschnitt ich das Hemd. Ich weiß noch nicht, ob ich den Kragen auch noch umgestalten werde. Ein paar Säume und eingenähte Gummibänder später sah so das Ergebnis aus:

I can cover the shoulders if I want too…

Ich kann die Schultern bedecken, wenn ich möchte…

… or not.😉 / … oder eben nicht.😉

The blouse looks even better when worn with a belt, I think.

Die Bluse sieht noch ein bisschen besser aus, wenn man einen Gürtel darüber trägt, finde ich.

Would this be work-appropriate if I covered the shoulders?

Wäre sie vielleicht sogar für den Job okay, wenn man die Schultern bedeckt?

This is my favorite – and the most steampunky – look. I can’t mention it enough: I love this vest!🙂

This was such a great and fun project! Plus, it’s really easy!

Dies ist mein Lieblings-Look – und der steampunkigste noch dazu. Ich kann es nicht oft genug sagen: Ich liebe diese Weste!🙂

Dieses Projekt hat wirklich Spaß gemacht. Außerdem war es wirklich einfach.

~~~ * ~~~

More Steampunk on “Still Dark @ Heart”: Click here.

21 comments

  1. WOW! I am seriously impressed. The top looks SO cute!!! I definitely think it would be appropriate for work with the shoulders up, especially with the belt. With the shoulders down, it’s perfect with your vest.

    1. Thank you, Kitty.
      I like the outcome a lot.
      I will wear it next week for a concert (Mono Inc. – a German Gothic / Goth-Rock band).

      What do you think about the new layout? Too playful or better than before?

  2. That vest is awesomeness – love it over the blouse. You’re so clever! I would have just cut the shirt up and then given up and thrown it out.😉

  3. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.

    Anyways, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  4. Hey there! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I had to ask.

    Does managing a strong blog such as yours take a large amount of work?
    I’m brand new to operating a blog but I do
    write in my journal every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my personal encounter and views on the web.
    Please inform me if you have any recommendations or techniques for
    brand new aspiring blog owners. Thank you!

  5. Did you buy the vest that went over top or make it out of something? I love it and would love to know how to get the bell sleeves and the best and it the best is a corset back ect. Just beautiful. Makes me want to take the few dress shirts my husband has a and do some cutting lol!

Leave a Reply

