ReGoth Your Wardrobe: Work With What You Got!

One day I realized I was just looking like anybody else. My outfits were ordinary and I felt ordinary. What had happened?

I used to be a goth person during high school and college. But when entering work-life I changed my whole attire to suit my job. Why? I didn’t know how dress-codes and goth wear could go along. So I changed most of my wardrobe.

Today, I very well know I don’t have to abtain from wearing black or “dark” clothes. But I have to accomodate my style to the current situation. What I mean is: A 35-year-old Goth dressing like a teenaged Goth may look ridiculous – or worse. Somebody working in child-care or with  sick and elderly persons  may appear depressing and even threatening when dressed all-black, wearing combat boots and tons of dark make-up around the eyes.

So, I try to be reasonable. I’m grown-up, there’re rules which apply to me and the days of premature defiance are counted. But I’m still me and there’s no reason why I shouldn’t be a “dark” person anymore.

That’s why I’ve started to “ReGoth” my wardrobe.

Today, I rummaged through my closet once more and tried to find some basic pieces to work with. I suggest you do the same if you too decided to regoth your style. It’s annoying at first but it’ll be be fun eventually – because you’ll start thinking “not as bad as I thought”.😉

It was easy enough to find essential basics in my wardrobe: the classic black t-shirt and a pair of black jeans. In my opinion, a pair of dark blue jeans or gray pants work as well for a start. A pair of black shoes would be great (and necessary), too!

A black shirt and dark pants are great to work with. It’s easy to add accessories like a necklace, a scarf or  a watch. As mentioned above, find a nice pair of black or dark gray shoes. Most people own at least one pair. If you don’t have black shoes yet I suggest you look for a pair suitable for work, too.

Same basic outfit here but this time I added a scarf (because I love scarves and wear them almost daily^^). Makes the shirt look different, don’t you think? A little, at least.😉

For “real” variety, try wearing a cardigan with your black shirt. I think most people own at least one cardigan-like top. Go find it! You don’t have to stick with black here. A darker outfit is still allowed to have some colors in it. I like adding purple, gray and even pink. Adding something white (shirt, scarf, blouse…) to a dark outfit usually works, too.

Rummaging through my clothes I discovered I still have quite a lot things in darker colors: black, purple, wine-red, gray. What about you? Which colors dominate your wardrobe?

Here’s an example of a basic non-black shirt. The scarf is one of my favorites. Any ideas how to best combine this shirt with something else?

This black top has buttons and little pockets in the front. It can be worn by itself…

… or layerd. I like it best in combination with the purple shirt from above. A white shirt underneath might look good, too. I just didn’t think of it earlier or I’d have taken a photo.😉

This is the hidden treasure I found deep within my closet. This top would look good with a skirt, too, I think. Maybe there’s something just like this in your closet, too? A beautiful shirt long-forgotten?

Most clothes pictured above were already in my closet when I decided to ReGoth My Wardrobe – I had just forgotten about them. So if you feel the urge within yourself to start dressing darker again try to work with what you got first. Share your finds with us if you like (you can grab the button from the top of this post if you want). I’d love to see with what you come up!

Once you know what basics you have you can start adding to your wardrobe.

Last but not least, there’s one more scarf to show you today!🙂 For more “Scarf Love” check out Ephemera’s Revenge of Dress Week.

ReGoth Your Wardrobe – An Introduction

7 comments

  1. I’m really enjoying these posts! You have some *perfect* pieces hiding in your wardrobe. 😉 I especially love that black and white floral top. Purple is a big color for me – it’s so regal and elegant and still “dark” overall. And don’t forget red!!

  2. I love the black top over the purple one – and the first scarf! Very cute. That last dressier top is AWESOME, I can totally see it with a darker red skirt or slacks with some black heels for an understated goth look.

    I always manage to forget about things in my closet, especially if I shop a lot. I feel like I “don’t have anything” because I’m too busy looking for new stuff to pay attention to the awesome stuff I own.

  3. @VictorianKitty: Thank you! I’m glad you do. Sometimes I feel awkward writing about fashion. I still wonder if I can improve my sense of fashion and style.

    @Sheila: You’re welcome! Linking to sites I like matters a lot to me.

    @Siouxsie: Me, too.🙂 Thanks! I love it, too.

    @Megan: Thanks!🙂 Scary how one totally forgets abot certain clothes, isn’t it? Even great pieces are not remembered sometimes.

  4. Pingback: Still Dark @ Heart

Leave a Reply

