Dinner Date With Mr. K. & Thinking About American Food

Weeks ago, I found this little black dress on sale (8 €/ 11.50 US$). I finally wore it for dinner at a Chinese restaurant we love yesterday. There’s only one thing I don’t like about the outfit: the shoes! The heels need to be higher. Still, I felt great wearing that dress and cardigan. That’s definitely an outfit I might wear for work.

I’ll have to go shopping for shoes next month. I really want higher heels!

What’s more important, though, is a question to readers from the U.S.: What are typical American foods for a birthday party? Any recipes? I really need a change – I’m so tired of the standard German buffet. A cook-out would be great but German weather  is usually tricky in August so I’ll have to stick with a buffet. The party will accommodate 20-25 people. Would love to hear your suggestions.

I tried to call the guy from the bank once more… He was “not available”. I officially complained about him this time and I’ll do so again – even in written form – if he doesn’t call back now.

Last but not least, check out Creative Kristi’s blog. She’s got a great article by guest blogger Denise (Denise In Bloom) about her Top 10 Blog Design Tips. This article made me add a “Contact” page to my blog (hope it helps).

11 comments

  1. American food… Hamburgers and hotdogs–which don’t HAVE to be grilled, but are better if they are. These are definitely typical summer foods!

    Really, our food comes from so many cultures you can just make a mix. For example, you could do chips and salsa, 7-layer dip, potato salad, salad, baked beans, macaroni & cheese, burgers, corn on the cob, fruit salad, s’mores (people could roast the marshmallows over one of those little flame heaters you use to keep the food at buffets warm), strawberry shortcake, brownies, etc.

  2. Wow, great suggestions, eef!🙂 I would never have come up with so many great ideas. But you’ve gotta tell me what a 7-layer dip is. Never heard of this before.
    I thought about brownies, too (I love brownies!!!). Hopefully it’ll all work out.

  3. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/seven-layer-dip-i/detail.aspx recipe for 7-layer dip!

    I lived there because I worked at the Edelweiss hotel in Garmisch–which is actually an American military hotel. I loved it there! The Alps are gorgeous! My German is terrible (even worse now that I’ve been back in America for 2 years), but I can order bier (of course) and understand a decent amount–well a decent amount of Bayern German, when I went North it was a lot harder!

    1. Haha, I’m from the north and I think the Bavarians are hard to understand!😉
      That must have been an interesting job.
      I wish I could return to the US for a longer period of time again but no such luck in the near future.😦

      It’s the same – only the other way round – for me: I spent only 1 year in the US and that was 12 years ago. So my English starts to dissolve somehow, I guess. That’s why I started blogging in English: I want to save what’s left.^^

      1. It was a fun job, I mostly made coffee in the coffee shop. =]

        Your English seems amazingly good… So I wouldn’t worry about that too much! I’ve never been good at learning languages (and of course in America, they don’t really teach them until you’re in high school, which is really late to learn), which is a shame because it did make things harder while I was in Europe. =[

  4. I love this! I even think the shoes are cute, although I know what you mean about wanting taller ones (especially for a date). Definitely a good potential work outfit.

    Don’t let the bank guy off the hook! I say keep complaining. The squeaky wheel gets the grease! 😉

    I’m kinda useless in terms of suggesting “typical” American foods. I usually go untraditional with my party foods. Cocktail sausages in barbeque sauce is a big favorite with my more traditional family members, though. And deviled eggs!

  5. I love the big belt!

    As for birthday foods – I’ve always been atypical for the fact that I have a winter birthday that almost always falls on an American holiday (MLK day) and so usually don’t have big parties. But we nearly always bought pizza and had either cheesecake or a “brownie” cake. I hate regular cake because it nearly always has yucky icing.

    Alternative ideas could be doing pot luck or finding lots of appetizer recipes that will keep or be easy to set out. You could even do different country apps. “American” food is really hard to place because other than “burgers/hotdogs” the food tends to be poor imitations of other countries’ foods.

Leave a Reply

