Norway

I’ve returned from Norway as you might have read on my Twitter or Facebook account. Mr. K., my mother-in-law and I decided to go on a short cruise to Oslo, Norway. We’ve done that before, in 2009, and back then it was as great a trip as it was this time. The ship which carried us to Oslo was called “Color Fantasy”. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to take a good photo of her.

Above and below are a couple of photographs I took on board and in Oslo. Being on a ship this size always makes me feel like a passenger on the Titanic. Isn’t the interior beautiful?

I had the impression on having been transported back to the 1920’s when looking at this dining hall. There was another one in which we had a table reservation but it was hard to take good pictures of it.

The weather forecast had announced bad weather for Oslo but we were really lucky and in was sunny most of the time. It was still pretty cold, though, and I was glad I had packed lots of warm outdoor clothing.

This is me, wearing my new water-proof, wind-resistant outdoor coat by Tchibo. I’ve already worn it in a rain-storm and it kept me warm and dry. I love coats because they keep my lower back and butt warm.😉 This one consists of two layers. Both can be worn seperately. The outer layer has a hood and lots of pockets which I need to stuff my keys, cell phone, empty dog-poop-bags, dog treats, gloves and other such things in.

This is the Nobel Peace Center in Oslo, Norway. See better photos at Wikipedia. I was in desperate need of a restroom when standing in front of it so I was somewhat in a hurry to move on and didn’t take more pictures…^^

This is the alley leading away from the beautiful Royal Palace. No, I didn’t take a picture either (because of aforementioned problem…).

These last two photographs were taken from the ship’s deck. The seagull accompanied us for quite a while – hoping for some treats.

We will probably return to Norway in a year or two. It’s a beautiful country to visit and I’d love to see more of it. Has any of you ever been to Norway? How did you like it?

*     *     *

I changed my blog’s layout and theme once more. I’m not sure if I like this one or the plain white theme I had before better. What do you think?

Oh, did you discover my new blogroll yet? It’s not a list in the sidebar anymore – but a whole page on it’s own!🙂 That way it’s much easier to see some of the great blogs I follow. No, I didn’t put every single blog from my feed reader there (I follow quite a lot blogs – and yes, I read them all. I just don’t comment on every single one.). Actually, it was hard to decide which blogs to put on the blog roll but I think those with dark, gothy content and great fashion posts would interest most of you. Don’t be mad if your blog’s not on the list (yet). I might just have forgotten to include the link.

5 comments

  1. Beautiful pictures! I especially love the interior of the ship. I could stand there for hours looking at that kind of majestic architectural beauty!!

    SO glad you clarified about the dog poop bags in your pockets being empty. 😉

    Glad you had a wonderful time! You needed it after the stress of buying a home and moving.

    PS: I like the new layout lots!

  2. Beautiful pictures, thanks for sharing. Sounds like you had a fab time.

    I like the new look to your blog. I recently changed mine as well and i am sure I will do it again. I like to change things around from time to time.

    Take care, V.

Leave a Reply

