eBook Review: “The New Death and others” by James Hutchings

In October, I finally bought an eReader. Not one of the commonly known ones but a nice cheap one with a color display. It took only half an hour to fall in love with my eReader and since I got it I’ve read a ton of eBooks. One of these was “The New Death and others” by James Hutchings which the author himself sent to me and asked me to review. I have to admit shamefully that it took me a whole month to finally sit down and write it. So sorry, James!

“The New Death and others” is a collection of 44 stories and 19 poems which are probably best categorized as “dark fantasy” but also touch the genre of horror and mythology with a somewhat Lovecraftian twist.  All in all, it was a pretty good read. Some of the stories in this collection I found quite disturbing, though – not necessarily in a negative way but because they raised questions and very dark thoughts.

Although, as a person who loves cats, I found the story “How the Isle of Cats Got Its Name” disturbing for other reasons…

The stories and poems in this book are short and easy to read – even for a non-native speaker of the English language. (Which would be me, ahem…)

Those who like dark, sarcastic, sometimes humorous, sometimes mean, fable-like stories should give this collection a try. You can find the eBook on Amazon and on Smashwords. The latter offers a sample for you to read online, too.

I’m pretty sure there are some of you who might enjoy reading this collection very much. Personally, I do appreciate the author’s work but I can’t relate to some – if not most – of it.

The stuff I usually read is very different to this book and I will not keep the truth from you: I love paranormal romance. I like dark heroes and fluffy love stories. I didn’t find these in “The New Death and others” as you might have guessed. This probably disqualifies me as “shallow-brained” but when doing a review I shouldn’t keep silent about how I personally liked the book. What do you think?

3 comments

Leave a Reply

