Almost December

We have a cute late-comer for Movie Monday so check out the last MOVIE MONDAY ROUND-UP and click on the links. You’ll find awesome posts!

Mr. K. and I did some x-mas decorating this weekend and yesterday. I love this season because it makes me feel like a child again. I love the smells, the colors, the sounds of it. I have not been easy to be around on some x-masses especially in the years after I had turned my back to the religion I was born and raised in and later when I battled depression. Fortunately, I’m a lot calmer nowadays and I won’t ever again order a book about devils and demons to arrive at my parents’ house on Christmas Eve. I’m really sorry, Dad.

More than ten years have passed since the devils and demons-incident and I’ve discovered that it’s okay to not be a Christian but still love the x-mas season. That’s why I’ve been humming Christmas songs for two weeks now. And I bought the little wooden stable with a manger and little figurines that Mr. K. wanted to have so badly. In fact, it makes me happy to see Mr. K. enjoying it so much. It came with cute little animals. And moss! There’s real moss on the stable roof. Cute!🙂

I am battling with words while trying to express what this season means to me. I find it hard to put my thoughts down mostly because I’m really out of practice concerning English grammer and vocabulary. Sorry about that. Maybe I should sit down with a dictionary more often.

Still, I hope I can somehow express how I had very mixed feelings about Christmas for years but finally found my own place in this season. I’ve calmed down, I’ve stopped questioning everybody’s beliefs, and I’ve been quite succesful in battling aforementioned depression. I’m having fun again!🙂

What does the x-mas season mean to you? Does it come with mixed feelings or is it a cheerful time for you?

Btw.: I have a Google+ Page now. Add me to your circles! 

3 comments

  1. I personally love the holidays and Christmas…I consider myself a strongly spiritual person year-round, but the beautiful music at Christmas often reminds me of how much I have to be grateful for, spiritually speaking-something that I often take for granted. And I like both getting and giving gifts.🙂 I have to say, though…this enthusiasm, since I got older, is tempered by the loss of that special Christmas magic that you only have as a child. It’s corny, I know, but when I watched the Glee Christmas episode where they were all fighting to keep the character Britney from figuring out there isn’t a Santa Clause so she won’t lose the magic of Christmas, I cried, because I wish a lot that I didn’t lose it myself. Erma Bombeck wrote several wonderful pieces about how being an adult on Christmas is an entirely different experience than being a child, and I re-read them every year to remind myself that I’m not the only one who feels this way. And on a lighter note, thanks so much for including my post even though it was late-greatly appreciated!😀

  2. My family is not religious at all, perhaps it was my revolution to do the contrary and choose baptism at 11 and confirmation at 14. And as a teenager I was very rage, ran from home and was a daughter nightmare. I think everyone need a period like this to go through.
    I love christmas and to decorate for christmas. But it have started to loose its glow. This will be the second cristmas eve without the children, we will refuse the christmas food and have a pizza instead. But when the kids arrives we will give the the classical swedish christmas.

  3. lol about the devils & demons incident. 😀 I think the majority of Americans who celebrate Christmas aren’t really doing it for the religious aspect anymore, so of course it’s fine for non-Christians to celebrate! Especially since most Christmas traditions were adapted from Pagan traditions, anyway. For Mr. Kitty and I, we admittedly see the holiday as more of an inconvenience than anything. American greed is at its worst during this time, the stores are crowded when all we need to buy is toilet paper, everyone expects us to be in four places at one time, everyone pummels each other with sweets and then they all complain about gaining weight… We just can’t get into it. We always have a romantic dinner just for the two of us on Christmas Eve and exchange some special gifts just for us. This gives us our own private tradition to look forward to. Then, we make the best of it and always put on smiles for the obligations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

