Midnight & Stormclouds

Sophistique Noir’s monthly theme for March is GRAY.

Only recently did I discover how much I like gray. Working in an environment where black is mostly frowned upon makes gray (and dark blue) a perfect color choice. Whenever I wear a color that’s not black I enjoy giving my outfits cheesy but romantic names (or titles). I think I started doing that when I was 12 years old and enjoyed wearing the “David-The-Vampire”-Outfit – which was inspired by Kiefer Sutherland’s role in The Lost Boys. I know for sure that I had something I called the “Buccaneer”-Outfit when I was 14 (inspired by Terence Hill in Il Corsaro Nero – isn’t he the most handsome man EVER???)…

Well, today’s theme is GRAY and so I gathered some pics of outfits with gray in them (the first and the last one being office-outfits). And I’ll tell you how I secretly call them in my mind. Don’t laugh!😉

Midnight & Stormclouds

The Straitjacket

Agnetha a.k.a. The Russian Princess

(click here to see why “Agnetha”… hint: the boots)

Are these outfits “dark” or gothy”? Well, not neccessarily. But to me, giving them names/titles makes them appear more mysterious – if you know what I mean. And for me, that’s important in work-clothes: If I’m not allowed to dress gothy I want my outfits to have a special feel to them.

14 comments

  1. I’m so happy to see you back to doing outfit posts! I think these count as Goth-friendly work outfits. I especially enjoy Agnetha for its casual elegance. And I love the black, white and gray combo in Midnight & Stormclouds. 🙂

    We name our electronics, and some of the houseplants, but I’ve never named an outfit. It DOES make them sound exotic!! ;-D

  2. I’ve never been able to find boots like that that fit me😦. Your style reminds me of a friend of mine, she was a punk in her teen years, but dresses more or less like this now. I like your “straitjacket” too!

  3. Ah, I love your russian prinsess! You have so many wonderful and cosy knits in your closet. Thanks for your lovely comment on our kitchen. It’s the first room in our house that we’ve finished. We have far too many projects going on in this house, need to finish them one by one.

  4. Nice outfits! I like the themes ^_^ I don’t really give mine specific titles, but I definitely think of outfits in terms of different themes or concepts.
    Now I feel the need to get some gray into my wardrobe- it looks really good the way you paired it with black (and white).

  5. I think these outfits are perfectly dark & gothy! Grey just looks so sophisticated & elegant to me — black & grey seem like a ‘grown-up goth’ combination. I can’t pick a favorite outfit of these, I love them all & would wear them myself.

  6. Oh, love “Midnight and Stormclouds”, and the Agnetha boots are great! I love the idea of naming your outfits-I tend to think of mine in terms of characters/stories, so I’m glad I’m not the only one who does that sort of thing.🙂

  7. All of these are wonderful and cozy. I especially love the Straitjacket and the Russian Princess. The angles on them are amazing. I am going to use the outfits-as-themes idea next time I get in an outfit slump.

  8. To me these outfits look classic and very work-appropriate. It’s sad that your workplace doesn’t allow all-black. My boss’ boss always wears black outfits, maybe with a splash of red or grey on occasion, that doesn’t make her goth! And I’m a government employee, so this is a very conformist place. A lot of working women wear only a couple colors, most often dark, so it’s easier to coordinate, I really don’t see what’s wrong with it.

Leave a Reply

