Why WoW?

Bild

I have always enjoyed gaming: playing video games like Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter, jumping and running with Mario or delving into the worlds of Elder Scrolls, Spellforce, and others.

The first MMORPG I loved was City of Heroes (CoH) which let me be a super hero. I gave other MMOs a try, too, like Star Wars Galaxies.

At one point in my life I stopped gaming completely. There was no more room for it. I had other things to do and I also had the impression it was time to “grow up”, to do more “mature” things. Still, I always missed gaming, if only a little.

Then they offered Oblivion on sale and I couldn’t resist. I was hooked again. No, it didn’t grow into an addiction, I would only play once or twice a week, then once or twice a month.

A little later, years after having abandoned Paragon City, I decided to check out CoH again – only to discover that it had ceased to exist.

At about the same time, I found out that it is possible to check out World of Warcraft for free, and I did. It took me a while to get used to it and I felt (and still feel) very old and like a bloody beginner who has never played an MMO before. But I stayed persistent and didn’t allow occasional bullying to keep me away from WoW.

What finally saved me was finding a guild, a small one with only a handful of other players. They’re very cool and friendly people, always polite and very helpful. They taught me most of what I know about WoW and never ran out of patience although I bombarded them with questions.

What’s your story? Do you enjoy MMOs and/or gaming in general?

8 comments

  1. I love gaming. I played WoW through most of university, and it was so much fun. I loved the levelling process, but one summer I found a guild and we raided every Tuesday/Thursday evening, and it was an absolute blast. Then I went to South Korea and my computer broke, so that sadly ended my brief raiding experience🙂

      1. I did, lol. To teach English. My internet connection wasn’t that great, and my laptop broke so I had to buy a netbook … and netbooks aren’t exactly built for heavy gaming, lol. What do I play now … I was into League of Legends for a while, and I tried out the Mists of Pandaria expansion, as well as SWTOR … currently I’m alternating between http://www.addictinggames.com/action-games/papas-pancakeria-game.jsp and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets for PS2😀

  2. I love gaming! Especially with my family so far away; we can all log on and kill a dragon together! I find having fun guilds helps. I have also played Aeon and Rift, but they just felt like knockoffs of WoW. I was Co-GM of a friendly little guild on Feathermoon and I am an officer on Lothar in my brother’s guild. We raid and dungeon and just play in general.

    I have always been a gamer. My current computer game loves are the Witcher II and Diablo III. Diablo is lovely because my RealID lets me talk to my guildies and family who are online at the same time, even if I am not playing WoW. I am also really obsessed with Skyrim for the PS3.

    I tabletop game as well. Anything involving my imagination makes me happy; especially if I am playing with family and friends!

  3. I have always loved computer games but WoW is my passion now. I’m glad I have found a nice home and group of friends to play with. Now I am totally addicted LOL!

    1. Hi Navi!
      Thanks for taking the time to comment.🙂
      Yep, I’m addicted, too.
      WoW is always on my mind (even when it shouldn’t be, lol).

Leave a Reply

